America's #1 Online Cigar Auction
first, best, biggest!

Last post 3 years ago by BuckyB93. 9 replies replies.
Moving Direct TV box/card from one satellite to another
daveincincy Offline
#1 Posted:
Joined: 08-11-2006
Posts: 20,029
Can you take the card (or entire box) from Direct TV and connect it to another satellite receiver? More specifically can you move it from a home location to an RV with a satellite of unknown brand (at the moment). There is a satellite box in the RV, but I forget the brand...IIR it may have been Pioneer. Think Not sure. There is a slot for a card so that is why I was wondering if maybe all one had to do was take the card out of the Direct TV box and place it into this other box.
BuckyB93 Offline
#2 Posted:
Joined: 07-16-2004
Posts: 7,751
You can't swap cards. The card and box are "married." It would cost you $25 (if I recall) to get a new card for a different receiver.

You could, however, take the box+card and use it in the RV assuming the satellite service is DirecTV. All your programming options come with you since the card tells the receiver what channels/packages you are allowed to access.
tonyt722 Offline
#3 Posted:
Joined: 06-20-2007
Posts: 23,649
No
t33bone Offline
#4 Posted:
Joined: 10-25-2007
Posts: 26,231
you could a while ago when u could program cards. lol

critter2 Offline
#5 Posted:
Joined: 11-02-2007
Posts: 6,109
you can take your receiver anywhere you want and tie in to an existing dish of the same vendor or you can take it remote and set up an antenna. you will need a tripod mount and coax to connect with a movable antennae. you can adjust an antennae in by getting close and adjusting while watching, but they make meters that make the job much easier.
chemyst Offline
#6 Posted:
Joined: 05-29-2006
Posts: 1,674
DirecTV has a signal strength meter built into the box. It's in the Setup menu.

Take the box AND card with the RV, and set it up as needed. DirecTV uses
several different box makers, and the cards are not interchangeable, iirc.
Not sure if latest generations have this limitation.

Chemyst Cool
daveincincy Offline
#7 Posted:
Joined: 08-11-2006
Posts: 20,029
The box in the RV is made by Sony. It's probably pretty dated. I was looking at some paperwork on the RV satellite system and it is made for DirectTV (and Dish Network) so hopefully all that will be needed is to take the box (w/card) from a home location and put it in place of the Sony box. The DirectTV box at the home location is not Sony IIR. I'm not sure who it's made by. It just says DirectTV on it. The card in the Sony box has been removed...it was probably swapped in/out between home and RV by the previous owner.

Too much to learn. We haven't even begun to figure out how to turn on any of the electronic devices like the tv, dvd, and surround sound. The VCR in it can come out for sure. LOL
jessicas@cigarbid Offline
#8 Posted:
Joined: 07-12-2010
Posts: 2,606
I know my parents take one of there boxes from the house along in the camper with them. They bought a directv dish from someone and hook the box up to that. They had to call directv to get the satelite location info so they could position it in the right direction at the campground.
BuckyB93 Offline
#9 Posted:
Joined: 07-16-2004
Posts: 7,751
daveincincy wrote:
The box in the RV is made by Sony. It's probably pretty dated. I was looking at some paperwork on the RV satellite system and it is made for DirectTV (and Dish Network) so hopefully all that will be needed is to take the box (w/card) from a home location and put it in place of the Sony box. The DirectTV box at the home location is not Sony IIR. I'm not sure who it's made by. It just says DirectTV on it. The card in the Sony box has been removed...it was probably swapped in/out between home and RV by the previous owner.

Too much to learn. We haven't even begun to figure out how to turn on any of the electronic devices like the tv, dvd, and surround sound. The VCR in it can come out for sure. LOL


I had/have a Sony receiver a while back but I switched it out for a DirecTV Tivo system. The ones branded as DirecTV are Hugues I think.

As for swapping the cards in and out, you used to be able to do that but no longer. This prevents folks that have the “Platnium package,” for example, and using it at their friends house who only has the “Silver package.”
Users browsing this topic
Guest